Skip to content ↓


The friends of John Donne is the school’s Parent Teachers Association (PTA)

Aims and Objectives

The PTA serves three main functions working towards furthering the educational, social and general opportunities of our children at John Donne School.

  • Communication - to adopt good communication between parents, carers and staff within the school community.
  • Parental Involvement - to support the involvement of parents and carers.
  • Fundraising - the PTA organises several events throughout the year to provide additional funds for the school.


FoJD membership is free and open to all parents and carers with children attending the school or Nursery.  A large part of our activities involve fundraising - we have helped go subsidise activities and school resources.

Why be Involved?

"The aim of Parent teacher associations is to foster better relationships between parents, carers and their children's schools.  PTA's create a partnership which helps the school listen to and deal with parents' concerns; and for parents to learn more about the school and how to improve their children's education.  PTAs do not necessarily represent the views of all parents and carers but they can be an excellent forum for communication and a basis for partnership between parents, carers and schools."  (Department of Children Schools and Families. 2009)

Following the Annual General Meeting in October 2015, posts are held by the following:

Friends of John Donne Committee

Chair Lisa Sertic
Vice Chair (Job Share) Christelle Lafille & Janine Lai
Secretary Kevin Rose
Vice-Secretary Chloe Mcculloch
Treasurer Nazmeen Begum
Vice-Treasurer Neil Douglas
School Council Members Javell Grant (R6), Yoyinsola Osineye (R6), Timmy Karim (G6), Meiyama-Karen Soumahoro (G6), Ogooluwa Taiwo (R5), Adesuwa Omonkhua (R5), Emmanuel Ikebuiro (G5), Adesuwa Omoregie (G5), Natalia Scott (R4), Deborah Bankole (R4), Shanti Shrestha (G4), Sahra Sheriff (G4) Kieren Hamilton (B4), Ireni Logan-Bash Kamara (B4), Daniel Rowland (R3), Angel Gachette (R3), Marianna Peppas (G3), Owen Edo (G3), Bobby Parsons (B3), Chelsea Conteh (B3) 
Parent members Gbemisola Adebesin (RR), Michell Allen (R2), Tosin Awe (RG), Steve Ball (R5), Helen Clark (Y3), Rose Ellis (R5), Emete Friddle (Year 1 and 4), Mari Jac-During (G2), Safiatu Kamara (R3), Nadine Martin (G5 & G2), Natalie Moore (R1), Bimpe Musliudeen (R2), Sophia Opoku-Addo (Nursery & G2) & Adam Soens-Hughes (R1).